Las Palmas 1-0 Athletic Club: Postgame Player Comments

Athletic Club’s 1-0 loss to Las Palmas on Sunday was the first defeat of the season under new manager Kuko Ziganda. Despite playing a balanced game, a late goal from Loic Remy was the difference maker that saw the Lions walk away with nothing to show for their efforts. After the game, Ander Iturraspe and Eneko Bóveda spoke to the media and both said that they think Athletic deserved something more from the game. Bóveda admitted that he was partly at fault for the goal and said that he isn’t thinking about the fact that his contract is set to expire at the end of the season. Here is what both players had to say.

Eneko Boveda

Eneko Bóveda took part of the blame for the goal in Sunday’s defeat (AthleticTV)

Ander Iturraspe

“It was a very competitive game and we deserved more. Remy’s goal was great and came at a difficult time for us to recover. I think we had chances with Williams, Sabin, and Susaeta. They [Las Palmas] barely had any. We have a big squad and that means everyone will get a lot of chances to play. Today we rotated the lineup a lot and we are ready to compete every three days. We can learn from this and the important thing is knowing where we want to be.”

Eneko Bóveda

“We played well and there were options to score. It was a balanced match, but we could not win. Part of the fault is mine. I could have been better placed on the goal and I;m not happy with that play or the result. I’m happy with my minutes, it’s just a shame that it ended with that play and the feeling that I could have done something more. I still have this year left on my contract and I will continue to work hard and be reliable. I have a good feeling with the coach. I have a long season ahead and my commitment is to fight and hopefully earn a regular place at right-back.”

Leave a Reply

